Becky (Delgado) McLendon BSRC, CRT, RPSGT, Clinical Sleep Educator
TSSP President, 2016 – 2017

Becky graduated from Texas State University in 1998 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Respiratory Care. She entered into the sleep field doing an internship at LYNAY Healthcare as a night technologist. She received her registry in sleep in 1999 and later expanded her career to include overnight work, scoring, EEGs, marketing, lab development and management of one of the largest sleep labs in Austin. Currently she is working as a successful independent contractor providing consulting, scoring and accreditation help to local and out of town labs. She has served the TSSP since 2010 and in 2011 held the position of TSSP Central Regional Representative. She was elected the TSSP Vice-President in 2013 and has enjoyed her time with the organization.

watenpaugh pic 2006 ed 1
Dr. Don Watenpaugh
Vice President, 2016 – 2017
Dr. Don Watenpaugh is a sleep medicine specialist and scientist. He was born in Dallas, Texas, and he grew up in Irving. He received his PhD in physiology from University of California, Davis in 1995. He joined Sleep Consultants in Fort Worth, Texas first as a sleep study analyst from 1997 to 2000, and then as a caregiver in 2004.  He trained for clinical work with Drs. Mary and Ed O’Malley in Norwalk, CT, and with Drs. John Burk and Ed Lucas at Sleep Consultants. Dr. Watenpaugh earned board certification in sleep medicine in 2005. In addition to sleep-related research, he has also published work in environmental toxicology, exercise physiology, thermoregulation, and gravitational physiology (spaceflight). (A Medline search of “watenpaugh d” shows much of his peer-reviewed publication record.) Dr. Watenpaugh has directly supervised the research or clinical training of 36 undergraduate/graduate students and doctors. He is adjunct professor in the Department of Integrative Physiology, University of North Texas Health Science Center, Fort Worth, and in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, University of Texas, Arlington. His personal interests include football (American), orienteering, cycling, rock skipping, aviation, art, poetry, and playing cornet.


Don C Armstrong, RSPGT
TSSP Treasurer, 2016-2017

Don completed a stint in the United States Marine Corps in 2006. He entered sleep through an OJT program with a sleep lab in Austin while attending school. He earned his registry in sleep in 2008 and has since performed duties in all areas encompassing sleep lab functions, including scoring, DME and management. He has worked for companies ranging in size from the largest sleep related corporations in the country, to small independent physician owned labs. He is currently the Lead Technologist at Texas Pulmonary Sleep Center in Arlington. He has served the TSSP since 2015 at which time he was elected to the position of Treasurer.

Head shot Delaine_Romero - Copy


Delaine Simpson Romero, RPSGT
TSSP Secretary, 2015 – 2017

Delaine started out in Respiratory Therapy at St. Francis Hospital in Tulsa, Oklahoma. In 1990, she was formerly trained in sleep at All Saints Hospital and passed the 3-part RPSGT exam in 1992. She quickly helped St. Francis expand their small lab into a 6 bed facility with outreach sites. In 2000, she relocated to the DFW area and is currently the Sleep Manager for Texas Pulmonary Sleep Center in Hurst. Delaine was appointed by the board in May of 2015 to fulfill the role of Secretary when it became vacant.

TSSP Staff & Board would like to recognize Stephanie Scheffer for her time and dedication to TSSP serving as Secretary from September 2014 to May 2015. We are extremely grateful for her work and commitment during her service as secretary.

Duties of Board Officers (Excerpt from ByLaws)

Section 6.6 President.  The President shall be the principal executive Officer of the Corporation, and shall in general implement and supervise all of the business and affairs of the Corporation, subject, however, to the control of the Board of Directors and of any duly authorized committee of Directors.  The President shall, if present, preside at meetings of the Board of Directors.  In addition, the President shall perform such other duties as may be prescribed b the Board of Directors from time to time.

Section 6.7 Vice-President.  If the President is not present at a meeting of the Board of Directors, the Vice-President shall preside.  The Vice-President shall perform such additional duties as may be assigned by the Board of Directors or the President from time to time.  If at any time the office of President is vacant, the Board shall designate the Vice-President to serve as President and a new Vice-President shall be appointed for the remaining term of office.

Section 6.8 Secretary.  The Secretary shall: (1) keep the minutes of the meetings of the Board of Directors and of committee having any of the authority of the Board of Directors, in one or more books provided for that purpose; (2) ascertain that all notices are duly given accordance with these Bylaws or as required by law; (3) be custodian of the corporate records, including the Minute Book of the Corporation; and (4) in general perform all duties incident to the office of Secretary and such other duties as from time to time may be assigned by the President and/or by the Board of Directors.

Section 6.9 Treasurer.  The Treasurer shall have charge and custody of, and be responsible for, all funds and securities of the Corporation, receive and give receipts for monies due and payable to the Corporation from any source whatsoever, and deposit all such monies in the name of the Corporation in such banks, trust companies, or other depositories as shall be selected in accordance with Article 9 of these Bylaws.